Skip to main content
Act-On Software

Managing Opt-Outs in Bulk

 

You can add multiple contacts to your opt out list at once to bulk unsubscribe a group of recipients.

Opt Out Multiple Contacts

If you have a specific list of email addresses, you can upload them to the Opt-Out List. To opt out an entire list/segment in bulk, follow the steps below.

Create a Segment

The first step is to create a segment of one of your lists that contains the contacts that you want to unsubscribe.

  1. Click Contacts, and click Marketing Lists, or click Other Lists for Signup, or Webinar Lists
  2. Hover over the list or segment and click dropdown menu for More
  3. Choose Create a Segment 
  4. Choose the Query option in the Method drop-down
  5. Combine expression with AND 
  6. Click the Behavior option in the drop down for the criteria
  7. Select in all time  as the date criteria and choose Opted Out equals none for the behavior (this keeps out contacts who are already in the Opt-Out List) 
  8. Click on the plus sign to add any additional criteria that will identify which contacts to opt out

 

Create an Automated Program

Next, you should create an Automated Program that will push your segment to the Opt-Out List automatically.

  1. Navigate to Automation > Automated Programs, then click the plus sign to create a new program
  2. In the Source Lists section, click Add and select the segment that you created above
  3. Set the other program details, including the schedule that the program should use to run
  4. Under Program Flow, drag and drop Add to Opt-Outs step to the program flow
  5. Click Done to save your program

Remove Contacts from Opt-Outs

There is no bulk method to remove contacts from your Opt-Out List, either in the application or using the API. We recommend either removing opt-outs individually or using website content and forms to encourage customers to opt in again.

If you need to have your entire Opt-Out list removed, Act-On will not be able to fulfill the request due to legal reasons. The only exception is if you uploaded the wrong Opt-Out list to our system.

  • Was this article helpful?

Have a question about this topic?

Ask the community!